Nebraska has a time limit within which plaintiffs are expected to file their claims. This time limit is known as the statute of limitations, and it's intended to ensure a transparent legal system.
Depending on your case's nature, and when you discovered that somebody's negligence caused your injury, there are varying time limits within which you should file your claim.
In addition to ensuring transparency, the statute of limitations helps maintain evidence and witness testimony integrity.
Here is the statute of limitations for some civil actions in Nebraska.
•Injury to person — 4 years
•Assault and battery — 1 year
•Libel/slander. — 1 year
•Fraud — 4 years
•Injury to personal property — 4 years
•Trespass — 4 years
•Professional malpractice — 2 years (and one year after discovery).
•Contracts and judgments — 5 years each.
•Collection of debts — 4 years
•Wrongful death — 2 years
Considering that some cases have shorter time limits than others and plaintiffs stand to lose any chance of getting compensation if they miss this statutory time limit. It will help if you don't let the clock tick against you before you file your claims.
You should always consult your attorney and ensure that you provide him or her with accurate information to help him/her build a strong case.